Top 5 locations to explore during your stay in Abidjan

  • 2 years ago

While Abidjan is not the tourist Mecca of Cote d’Ivoire, it still offers you many opportunities to experience the local culture and cuisine and discover authentic places and experiences. All it takes is an interest to learn and explore:

1. Grand-Bassam

The historic town of Grand Bassam was the first capital of CI. There are a few remaining colonial homes that take you back to the 19th and early 20th centuries. Some of the closest beaches to Abidjan are here and there are some hotels and restaurants people can choose from to spend a quick afternoon.

2. Treichville

This is a place to go if you want to explore local craftsmanship and acquire something to remember about Abidjan. From spices, textiles, masks, pottery, jewelry, artwork, you name it and they probably have it. It also offers competitive prices and you can bargain with the sellers.

3. Plateau

St. Paul’s Cathedral is located in the Plateau district of Abidjan. The Cathedral, designed by architect Aldo Spirito, serves as the mother church for the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Abidjan. The first stone of the Cathedral was consecrated on May 11, 1980, by Pope John Paul II during his first pastoral visit to Côte d’Ivoire. Plateau is also a district with many shops. Overall it is a busy district with tall buildings and offices, but it also offers interesting architecture and plenty of restaurants and cafes to explore.

4. Jardin botanique de Bingerville

Take a stroll in this garden and discover different species of trees, plants, insects, and reptiles native to the Ivory Coast. It’s about 18 km from the guesthouse making it ideal for a short day trip on your day off.

5. National Park of Banco

If you are a nature lover and enjoy walking or hiking, you may want to pay a visit here. The park has several species of birds and if you are lucky monkeys and chimpanzees can be seen from time to time. There are short and long trails available and is best to take a guide to avoid getting lost. Also about 18 km or 30 minutes from Gaia’s Garden.

Compare listings

Compare

Top 5 des lieux à explorer lors de votre séjour à Abidjan

  • il y a2 ans

Bien qu’Abidjan ne soit pas la Mecque touristique de la Côte d’Ivoire, elle vous offre tout de même de nombreuses opportunités pour découvrir la culture et la cuisine locale. Tout ce qu’il faut, c’est un intérêt pour la culture et l’exploration :

1. Grand-Bassam

La ville historique de Grand Bassam fut la première capitale de la Cote d’Ivoire. Il reste encore quelques maisons coloniales qui vous ramèneneront au 19e et au début du 20e siècle. Certaines des plages plus proches d’Abidjan sont ici et il y a quelques hôtels et restaurants parmi lesquels vous pouvez passer un après-midi rapide.

2. Treichville

C’est un endroit où aller si vous voulez explorer l’artisanat local et acquérir quelques souvenirs d’Abidjan. Des épices, des textiles, des masques, de la poterie, des bijoux, des œuvres d’art, vous n’avez qu’à demander. Les marchands proposent également des prix compétitifs que vous pouvez négocier.

3. Plateau

Une cathédrale catholique romaine est située dans le quartier du Plateau d’Abidjan. La cathédrale, conçue par l’architecte Aldo Spirito, sert d’église mère à l’archidiocèse catholique d’Abidjan. La première pierre de la cathédrale a été consacrée le 11 mai 1980 par le pape Jean-Paul II lors de sa première visite pastorale en Côte d’Ivoire. Le Plateau est aussi un quartier avec de nombreux commerces. Dans l’ensemble, c’est un quartier animé avec de grands immeubles et des bureaux, mais il offre également une architecture intéressante et de nombreux restaurants et cafés à explorer.

4. Jardin botanique de Bingerville

Promenez-vous dans ce jardin et découvrez différentes espèces d’arbres, de plantes, d’insectes et de reptiles originaires de Côte d’Ivoire. Il se trouve à environ 18 km (30 minutes) de la maison d’hôtes, ce qui le rend idéal pour une courte excursion d’une journée pendant votre journée de repos.

5. Parc National du Banco

Si vous êtes un amoureux de la nature et que vous aimez marcher ou faire de la randonnée, vous voudrez peut-être faire une visite ici. Le parc abrite plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux et si vous êtes chanceux, des singes et des chimpanzés peuvent être vus de temps en temps. Il existe des sentiers courts et longs et il est préférable de prendre un guide pour éviter de se perdre. Également à environ 18 km ou 30 minutes du Gaia’s Garden.

Compare listings

Comparer